## STATE OF ALABAMA SUMTER COUNTY RESOLUTION TO REQUIRE PERMITS FOR USE OF COUNTY RIGHT-OF-WAY

## KNOW ALL MEN BY THESE PRESENTS: That,

**WHEREAS,** the Sumter County Roads traversing the County are principally maintained and come under the responsibility of the Sumter County Commission, and,

WHEREAS, Sumter County has a valuable timber industry, has utility companies with utility lines that are often located adjacent to said roads or highways, and has other economic or recreational endeavors that also cause use of said highway rights-of-ways and road rights-of-ways, and,

WHEREAS, use of said rights-of-ways by timber companies, utility companies, or other entities often cause damage to said roads or rights-of-ways, or refuse is left on said roads or rights-of-ways, and,

**WHEREAS,** the Commission is burdened with maintenance of said roads and rights-ofways, including repair of said damage and removal of refuse, NOW, THEREFORE,

**BE IT RESOLVED,** that from this day forward, all entities, persons, corporations, or whoever uses the Sumter County Roads or rights-of-ways associated with said roads or highways for purposes including, but not limited to, timber cutting, tree or foliage trimming along utility lines, installation or maintenance of utility lines, or other purposes shall FIRST apply for a permit to conduct said activity from the Office of the Sumter County Engineer, and said permit shall be issued at the discretion of said Engineer at no cost to applicant.

**ALSO,** the failure to apply for said permit prior to said activity being commenced shall constitute a violation of the laws of Sumter County, Alabama and said person or entity may be arrested for said failure to secure a permit, upon proper complaint being filed with the Sumter County Circuit Clerk, said warrant returnable to the Sumter County District Court, and upon a conviction, the Court is authorized to impose a fine of not more than \$500.00, and not more than six (6) months in jail, at the discretion of the Court.

**DONE** this the  $22^{nd}$  day of September , 2008.

Drucilla Russ-Jackson, District One

Ronnie Beard, District Four

Grodie Hall, District Two

Marie Carter, District Five

Ben Walker, District Three

Aubrey Ellis, Chairman, District Six