About Sumter County

Sumter County was part of the Choctaw Nation from 1797 to 1832. The first settlers in Sumter County were French explorers who had come north from Mobile. They built and settled at Fort Tombecbee, near the modern-day Town of Epes. In 1830, with the Treaty of Dancing Rabbit Creek, the Choctaw Indians ceded the land that is now Sumter County to the government.

Sumter is located in West Central Alabama and is part of the Black Belt region. The area is rich in heritage and is home to many historic sites.

Recreational Activities: Hunting, Fishing & Boating (private and public facilities)

Established: December 10, 1832

Population: 13,763

County Seat: Livingston

Other Cities & Towns: Cuba, Emelle, Gainesville, Geiger, Livingston, York

3 Major Employers: University of West Alabama, Sumter County Board of Education, Waste Management, Inc.

Land Area: 913.3 square miles